Forums Latest Members
  1. saturn1981 Dec 10, 2014

I am a novice watch repairer.
    I took apart a pocket watch for cleaning. Everything went well until i got to the winding setting.
    I took out a screw and the winding setting fell out on the floor. I found everything but one screw.

Can you tell me the name of that screw?
    And can you tell me how to get a replacement?
    Any help would appreciated. P1050339.jpg
    thanks

2. saturn1981 Dec 10, 2014

I think it holds this part to keep the Winding/ Setting in the watch.
    Does anybody know what that part is named?
    Any help would be appreciated. P1050391.jpg

3. ChrisN Dec 10, 2014

Is there a little gear under the plate to connect the clutch to the minute wheel (the wheel with the two gears)? This works when you set the time. I’m no expert but, for me that would be the “Intermediate wheel” or “Setting wheel” so, the screw would be called “screw for xxxx plate” or ““screw for xxxx post”. Let's see if an expert has a comment.

You may be lucky and find a parts list for your movement on cousinsuk.com (is it an Omega?) and be able to order the correct screw but more likely, the option would be to buy a mixed bag of screws for pocket watches and select one that does the job. Better still, find that screw and save some money! There looks to be a lot of corrosion between the hour wheel and cannon pinion so, good luck.

Cheers, Chris

4. saturn1981 Dec 10, 2014

Thanks for your reply.
    There is no gear under that plate. I think that the winding stem goes through underneath just to hold the winding and setting to the watch.
    It is a Waltham Pocket Watch.
    Here is a photo.
    Screw.jpg

5. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Dec 10, 2014

Well thankfully you have told us it's a Waltham, and I can see the serial number on the plate...just remember that it's very difficult, if not impossible, to help you find a part without knowing the specifics of the watch in question...