Forums Latest Members
  1. Moebius Apr 6, 2019

Hi Guys!
    Apologizes in advance if the question is boring , this is my first Vintage watch and basically I have no experience at all with this kindo of watches . but I have just acquired my first Vintage Omega(Cal 564 Ref 168.017) and I think I am having a problem when winding it. The crown seems in perfect condition and when I wind it is smooth and sounds fine, but I do not feel any resistance at all even after 4 minutes winding it. Is it normal? as based in previous watches I knew when to stop winding when I felt some pressure. Also being the watch automatic, do you recomend to wind it every day?
    Many thanks in Advance for any help!!

gatorcpa likes this.
  2. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Apr 6, 2019

Yes. You have an automatic watch. The mainspring has a clutch at the end that allows it to slip when the tension on the mainspring gets to a certain pressure. In theory, you could wind it forever and it will never be “fully wound”.

There are a few automatic watches without a slipping mainspring (LeCoultre Futurematic). Those are the rare exceptions.

Hope this helps.
    gatorcpa

3. Moebius Apr 6, 2019

Many thanks! Being automatic, is it recommended to wind it every day?

4. 124watchfan Apr 6, 2019

“Automatic” means u don’t have to wind it unless it hasn’t been worn much or has stopped. Has it been serviced recently?

5. TexOmega Apr 6, 2019

From dead stop, wind it 20-30 times, wear it on your wrist and the natural action of walking around and moving your arms will keep it wound enough to run properly.

Provided it has been serviced of course.

Welcome!

Dan S and Spruce like this.
  6. Moebius Apr 6, 2019