Forums Latest Members

Which of these two ? A more original 861 or restored 321

1. NiklasWalentin Mar 7, 2017

Dear All,

I am completely new to the vintage watch world, but I have always loved watches. Lately I finally decided I would try to get a 'real' watch, and even though I had decided I didn't dare to get a vintage, I managed to be persuaded in to a vintage watch dealership in Copenhagen, right after having tried a brand new Omega Speedmaster Professionel in the Omega store in Copenhagen. I immediately had my feet swept away, by this 68' watch and even though at the time ( last thursday ) I didn't knew anything about classic speedmasters, I just got that same rush and chill as when I got my dream car a few years ago.

Now, over the weekend I have used hours and hours to read history, serial numbers, pros and cons of movements, but still need more experienced help to decide between two watches I feel I could easily end up buying.

It is either this, what seems to me, quite good 861 from 76', with box and papers being sold in Italy by private collector:
    http://www.chrono24.dk/omega/speedmaster-professional-moonwatch--id5783990.htm

Or this, what looks like to me, a restore 321, being sold in Switzerland:
    http://www.chrono24.dk/omega/speedmaster-professional-moonwatch--id5734408.htm

It might be a hideous question, but I think I have gotten all out of the history books I could, and need some real experienced help now. I am deeply grateful for all answers and comments, and excuse my self for any gramma mistakes.

With great thank you in advance,
    Niklas Walentin
    Copenhagen

Skærmbillede 2017-03-07 kl. 14.22.52.png Skærmbillede 2017-03-07 kl. 14.23.00.png
  2. Badwolf Mar 7, 2017

The 321 is no good at all, replacement everything, case, dial, bezel, hands, etc. stay well clear.

plexyforever likes this.
  3. NiklasWalentin Mar 7, 2017