Forums Latest Members
  1. chipsotoole Jun 10, 2016

Hello Omegoids,

I'm new to the vintage watch bug. it has however bitten deep.
    I recently bought a lovely broken mid 60's Seamaster and had it repaired for just 30 Euros!!! after posting pictures one member believed it was a redial...he's probably right but it's so well done I don't care...Another member said just wear it and wear it hard.. Also great advice.
    So last night I gambled on poor online pictures and pulled the trigger on a 1960 Seamster cosmic (Jubilee bracelet+ dial Crosshairs)for a very reasonable 98 pounds. It is also in need of repair..Which given the general state of the thing seemed fair.
    Here's the question...Forum members often criticise or advise against redials and messing around with wear features, and buffing out vintage case patinas, yet often when a member shows up here considering buying a watch slightly worse for wear with tropical spots, wear damage at the edge of the dial, or even hard wear on the case backs , everybody as one says "nah, pass on it you'll find a minty one for a similar price." We can't all put the cash up front for the high end stuff features here by the true aficionados.At the lower end of the market we are trying to get these wonderful watches back up and running and USE. I'm trying to collect Omegas to wear....other brands like Zodiac, Nivada, Laco I buy to flip.

Where then is the point where you turn your back on a beat up vintage Omega even if it is priced way below the market average and the chances are a full service would still mean you'd be able to sell it for a profit if you so wished?