Forums Latest Members
  1. Lonestar insert Schwartz joke HERE Mar 21, 2016

Hi Guys

I'm still rather new to this, but I'm enjoying and learning a lot thanks to all of you :)

In my search for the "right" Speed MkII with a Racing dial, and throughout my discoveries of I am facing a dilemma though...

On the one hand, what we like in vintage watches is originality, especially on the dial: It is the "face" of a timepiece and has to show its true personality.

On the other hand, well, let's face it, some of them have aged better than others, with some of the tritium falling off the markers for instance, or some other artefacts of time.

Sometimes I have the feeling that the "it hasa nice patina" expression is used as a band-aid to hide poor condition. In which case, well, frankly, I don't mind a touch-up, or a few interventions that will give a bit more "pattern" and "structure" (couldn't find a proper translation for "relief" from French, sorry!). But it seems to be a big no-no here.

I am also a vintage car enthusiast, and as much as I like to use original parts, I don't mind "upgrading" it to modern parts when needed - without getting into resto-mod territory, of course, which is a completely different ball game (and I don't mind a nice resto-mod either!)

In your opinion - When is a lot of patina and originality "too much"? What are the criteria to look for to see if this is taking it too far?

Paul

2. styggpyggeno1 ΩF Enforcer ....and thread killer Mar 21, 2016

Maybe not an answer to your question but - personally I draw the line where and when someone asks a premium price for a watch because it has patina.