Forums Latest Members

What to watch out for when buying a speedy

1. Jokob Apr 24, 2014

Hi Everyone,

As you can tell by my post count, I am quite new to the game, but I would like to buy my first speedy (3570.50). I would like to know what to watch out for. I don't mind buying a used one As a matter of fact I would even prefer a vintage one around the years 1969/70. I am a bit battling between waiting for a good catch or buying one from the forum from some member with a good reputation. The thing is that I am not nearly not experienced enough to recognize a fake, a frankenwatch etc. Also, I can't tell if a price is a good price for a given time piece. I would like to skip an official retailer, since the prices seem to be quite steep compared to the ones in this or other forums. Besides that, vintage ones can't be found in official stores. So, that being said, what should I do? Do you have any tips, suggestions I could follow? How did you buy your first watch? Should I buy one with papers only?

I know for some of you these questions might be silly or obvious, but any help would be most welcome.

Thanks,
    jokob

2. Georgieboy58 Apr 24, 2014

Check out http://www.speedmaster101.com/.
    Gives you a lot of info.
    Buying one here from a respectable member is usually a good option if you want to play it safe (and prices are not necesarrily on the high end).
    If you dare to gamble, you can read through all the old threads and understand the finer details of these watches, so you are able to decide on your own.
    Or you show watches you are considering here in the forum and get verdicts. This of course gives any bypassers the option to jump at a recommended watch as well.

opticalserenity likes this.
  3. tpatta Happily spending my daughter’s inheritance Apr 24, 2014

You can't go wrong purchasing from our fellow forum members. I have found them honest and easy to deal with.
    Also, I don't believe you will find better pricing anywhere else.