Forums Latest Members

What to look for when picking up new watch "Check List"

1. FerrisBM Aug 30, 2018

Hi all. I am due to pick up my first omega this Saturday. I have gone for the brand new sapphire sandwich of the Speedy Pro. Could I have some tips on what to examine and inspect to make sure i dont get home and find an issue later on that I didn't spot in the store. This is my first ever proper watch with a mechanical movement so Im not afraid to admit I am a novice!

Other than inspecting for any scratches or imperfections, which of course there should none, what is the "check list" I should follow on a speedy pro to make sure all is good with it!

Thanks in advance

DM

queriver likes this.
  2. MikeMan2727 Aug 30, 2018

Are you picking it up brand new from an Omega Boutique? I would not expect any issues to arrise with that.

You could always ask them to show you how to wind and set the time if you are new to mechanical watches altogether. They will be happy to help you! If it is on a bracelet, make sure they size it for you before leaving.

Foo2rama likes this.
  3. Bushido Aug 30, 2018

Hi and welcome to the forums!

If you are picking up the Pro from an AD/OB, as stated above, have them take you through the watch functions and how to change the bracelet for strap. Likelihood of something working improperly is small but can happen. Checking functions at the shop will help discern if you should have concerns.

Once satisfied, strap it to your wrist and enjoy!

"Check List" wise, my only advice is this: Take a look at your current bank account total. Then subtract a large percentage of that to get an idea of where you will be financially over the next 6-12 months as these watches are addictive!

Wivac and kaisiang098 like this.
  4. WatchWalker Aug 30, 2018

Focus on the champagne that comes with it!

frederico likes this.
  5. M'Bob Aug 30, 2018

DON'T TELL YOUR WIFE.

Lbreak, BatDad, southard and 2 others like this.
  6. kaisiang098 Aug 30, 2018