Forums Latest Members

What is the purpose of the red dot on my new Speedmaster Pro?

1. Mad Dog rockpaperscissorschampion May 6, 2015

Just wondering what this red dot is all about. Is it some sort of reference mark? Initially, I thought it was just a red speck of debris but upon further inspection it appears to be purposefully placed there.

image.jpg image.jpg
  2. gee_cee May 6, 2015

A seal to show the case back hasn't been removed??

Mad Dog likes this.
  3. Nobel Prize Spell Master! May 6, 2015

Yes. The red dot is placed to note the case has not been opened. It is relevant while the watch is under warranty. After the warranty is passed it is less relevant

Mad Dog likes this.
  4. lwong May 6, 2015

There's some relevance still I think - if you've got a 60s or 70s watch that still has the red dot, it tells you it's time for a service...

I have a flightmaster with the red dot. ::facepalm1::

PatrickJ and Mad Dog like this.
  5. Nobel Prize Spell Master! May 6, 2015

LOL, Yes, of course...it should tell you to not wind it until someone can take a look at it for sure.

Mad Dog likes this.
  6. Mad Dog rockpaperscissorschampion May 6, 2015

Got it...thanks a bunch for the info...the learning curve is steep for a dude like myself.

Also, I very recently noticed another "what I initially believed to be a speck of debris" on my new Speedmaster Pro...but this one pretty much explained itself once inspected more closely...the Omega symbol on the underside of the Hesalite crystal. Pretty flipping cool.

image.jpg
    Ron_W and TLIGuy like this.
  7. Nobel Prize Spell Master! May 6, 2015

It is a cool little thing for sure.

Mad Dog likes this.
  8. Mad Dog rockpaperscissorschampion May 6, 2015

So here's one for you...is the Omega symbol that's on the underside of the Hesalite crystal purposefully orientated upside down with reference to the 12 o'clock position of the dial? That's the case regarding my Speedmaster Pro...wondering if that's the case with others.