Forums Latest Members
  1. oddboy Zero to Grail+2998 In Six Months Feb 11, 2016

Hey guys,

Noob here. I was wondering what the BestFit system is about. Is it a cross reference index of original parts, or an alternative maker of parts that match the specs of original parts?

I can't tell from descriptions and discussions I've found while googling.

I was wondering as Ofrei refers to some parts by both Omega part number and bestfit number. I'm not clear on whether that would be a real omega part, or an aftermarket part that should fit.

Thanks for the continuing education!

nonuffinkbloke likes this.
  2. Horlogerie EU based Professional Watchmaker Feb 12, 2016

It is both, a source of aftermarket form/fit/function pieces along with a huge supply of OEM pieces.

Quick example, here in the EU a supplier carries genuine Omega balance staff's for a 861, their price = $100

Bestfit carries the same OEM genuine Omega staff, the Bestfit price = $30

Bestfit also offers a form/fit/function replacement staff, price = $7

A balance staff is a balance staff, no matter what others may try and convince you otherwise. I have used and continue to use Bestfit whenever I can, they are an excellent, and many times - the only - source of material for vintage movements and case parts.

Unfortunately no one in the EU seems to understand what Bestfit is and how it can help watchmakers, and increase the sales for material supply houses. So I continue to order all my Bestfit material from Canada and have it shipped here to France.

The two Bestfit books are a reference that every watchmaker should have on his bench, simply full of information and details not found anywhere else, it's called the "Encyclopedia of watchmaterial" for good reason.