Forums Latest Members
  1. FabCo Sep 17, 2014

http://www.lunaroyster.com/watches/...r-145022-pre-moon-cal-861-tropical-brown-dial

The guy is a well respected seller on the vintage Rolex community so I guess he is trustable.

As I stated in my previous post, I am a complete newbie when it comes to vintage Speedy.
    However, the serial number of the movement is 296XXXXX which is too high, according to the research I have done so far.
    Could anybody enlighten me on this?
    I would also love to have your honest appreciation of the watch as a whole (all original and period correct parts?)
    Finally, is the asking price of 4.5k$ reasonable for this example?

Many thanks for your help.

F

2. JohnSteed Sep 17, 2014

my two cents.

Serial # for this example seems quite within a range and good IMHO.
    This particular seller [ @KRLYUZH you already have his contact #s ] is trusted here. Well...He was very open to questions and honest in my deal with him.

You certainly picked a very nice example to jump in on, this pre-moon example. It's one I can appreciate and especially love the dial. A chocolate dial is part of what you'd be paying for, amongst others. If you're researching, you'll see this example is where you'll that dial. It's pretty good, again, imho.

3. pitpro Likes the game. Sep 17, 2014

Seller is a highly respected member of this forum.
    Watch is listed here too
    http://omegaforums.net/threads/1969...2-pre-moon-cal-861-tropical-brown-dial.16259/
    Serial number is correct for correct "tropical" 1969
    that others have shown up in the same range.
    The watch has been worn a lot, but looks
    original. These tropical dials aren't cheap.
    If you want one you have to pay up.
    I have one and I love it.

Spacefruit and JohnSteed like this.
  4. pitpro Likes the game. Sep 17, 2014

"Complete newbie..."
    you have a good eye though!;)

5. FabCo Sep 18, 2014

Thanks all for your friendly and honest answer!