Forums Latest Members
  1. Marcus Mar 15, 2012

Hi
    I am new to this forum and indeed to Omega watches in general. I recently acquired a watch and I would like to try and find out some information about it. I’ve attached a couple of pictures below and I apologise in advance for the fact that some of the marks are unreadable. I will be taking some more pictures soon.

The things I do know are:
    The movement number is 134 xxx which I believe dates it to around 1950/52.
    The case is marked with a Swiss MCC mark stating that it is 18kt Gold and it is a rose/pink colour.

As I said I am very new to the Omega world and so any general information relating to this watch would be of use to me. I don’t even know what model it is. What I do know is that it is very nice.

Many thanks for your help.

Marcus

Omega 01.JPG Omega 02.JPG
  2. ulackfocus Mar 15, 2012

Hi Marcus, welcome to Omega Forums. You have what looks like a reference 2714 "Trésor" with either a caliber 342 or 344 bumper automatic. It's probably a 342, but the watch is right on the time (late 1952) when Omega switched from the 342 to the 344 as far as I know. You should be able to see which one it is on the movement - I can't see it in the picture. It appears to have a refinished dial, but it is a nice job. Many watches from this era end up with repainted dials because they didn't hold up well. Bumpers are quirky but have a charm that a sub-sect of vintage collectors really like. Overall, not a bad entry into Omega.

3. Marcus Mar 15, 2012

Many thanks for identifying my watch. I'll do some more investigation now I know what model it is for general interest purposes. I'd like to pick up on your statement "Bumpers are quirky." What exactly is a bumper?

4. apropos Mar 15, 2012

A bumper is a an automatic movement in which the arc of the rotor is restricted by springs - so instead of freely swinging around 360d, the rotor 'bumps' into the springs, which can be felt on the wrist. Hence 'bumper' movement.