Forums Latest Members

Were Omega watches assembled in local shops during the 1950s?

1. Y.S. Mar 11, 2018

I was just wondering about that, after snatching the beautiful Omega ref. 2608 below.

I have been collecting vintage Omega pieces for about 5 years now, and currently hold only a small collection. With that said, I have probably gone through thousands and thousands of photos on the internet during the recent years. During my research, I have noticed that there are countless period-correct variations of vintage pieces, especially in the pre-Seamaster period, and came to a conclusion that small shops were probably buying cases, dials, hands and movements separately, and assembling them with some manufacturer guidelines. Does it make sense? I know that pocket watches were assembled this way in earlier times, and figured that that might have been the case with wristwatches during the 1940s-1950s.

I believe that the watch I have purchased about a week ago (still on its way) is completely original, since it is extremely crisp, and since the colors of the hands and markers fit perfectly. With that said, I couldn’t find any exact variation for comparison. I would have initially expected the hands to be a tad shorter, and end inside the inner circle of the dial, but noticed that every watch of this reference number had pertruding hands. I wonder if these type of pieces were assembled in stores back in the day. Your thoughts? Do you know of any recommended books or websites that could provide any specific information?

The photos were taken by the highly recommended seller.

A24C946E-A3A2-4B46-AC08-6FE07C09E4D4.jpeg 4F4ACB61-B9EC-493B-8A1A-A4C7F2B36AD1.jpeg 8B3AA5B9-E688-4118-9B97-F985DC5FD656.jpeg D6E91927-5BCE-4C5E-BCD8-054E38E0CD0A.jpeg
    red crowned and hang10 like this.
  2. jimmyd13 Mar 11, 2018

What makes you think that this was made outside of Switzerland?