Forums Latest Members

Wedding present equals new expensive hobby

1. jamsxr Jan 5, 2019

I’ve always been a fan of nice watch but still being in my early 30’s, until now, buying a house and loosing money on motorcycles has always come first. I’ve got an automatic Tissot and a G-shock that have served me well for the last 6 years.

My wife kindly decided to buy me a Speedy as a wedding present and I love the thing. It’s a Broad Arrow Co-Axial Chronograph 42mm with 3313 movement, made in 2013, the year we met.

Now I understand form doing my research the 3313 doesn’t seem the most popular/reliable movement, I’m hoping that I’ve got the 3313C movement but I need to check that out.

Bearing in mind I’m new to the world of sophisticated watches, other than don’t rest my watch on a magnet, keep it clean, etc.. I’m keen to receive any other tips or words of advice for a would-be watch owner.

Unbeknown to my wife she may have kicked off a new hobby.....

Thanks
    James 3B64D2FD-A840-4C3B-B1EF-4DB38FA3885F.jpeg

mistexbs, adi4, pault8084 and 13 others like this.
  2. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Jan 5, 2019

Just wear it and get it serviced every 5 years.

Now log off and never come back, this hobby will Cost money. ;)

3. padders Oooo subtitles! Jan 5, 2019

I have one of those in silver, it’s a great watch. There isn’t a really collector following for the 33x3 Speedmasters yet, which is weird since some idolise a 1980s Speedmaster with a much more agricultural auto movement but don’t let that lessen your enjoyment. Everything from the pusher feel to the higher beat rate feels that bit more special than the regular Mooneatch on these, and I speak as someone with Pre-Moon Speedmaster models too. The movement really is a very high end design.

If you have a loupe, the movement spec can be seen stamped under the balance wheel. These have a sapphire back so it should be pretty easy.

Edited Jan 5, 2019