Forums Latest Members
  1. Rasputin The Mad Monk of OF Oct 29, 2018

I've been struggling trying to secure the movement within the case using a variety of different o-rings placed in the groove of the movement ring (see red arrows). I’m trying to find an o-ring or possibly a wave washer that would fit perfectly in the groove. I’ve measured the dimensions (diameter/thickness) of a proper fitting o-ring but need to find an online seller of a custom o-ring/wave gasket. Any suggestions?

7FD6AD8A-7DBA-4CBA-BDD0-172080D830B0.jpeg
  2. superfly Oct 29, 2018

At the risk of stating the obvious, I just searched for "custom precision wave washer" and "custom o-ring" and a lot of seemingly promising results came up.

I have zero experience with any of the results you might find, though. I think the issue you may run into is that you probably want just one or a few, but not a batch of 100, or whatever.

Anyway, good luck!

3. wsfarrell Oct 29, 2018

Esslinger has a very nice selection of o-rings in many different thicknesses and diameters, minimum quantity 1.

gdupree and Rasputin like this.
  4. wsfarrell Oct 29, 2018

P.S. If you can find a standard metal washer in the right size/thickness, you can just bend it to make it a wave washer. I see these a lot in vintage Russian camera lenses I restore---people use them as spacers to allow infinity focus on modern mirrorless digital cameras.

Rasputin likes this.
  5. Professor Oct 30, 2018

Could one bend a copper or brass wire to the right shape? I made my own rings for chain mail years ago. Just wound the wire around a steel rod to make a coil and cut it into rings. Wire this thin should be much easier to work with.

Perhaps a piece of soft plastic tubing could be trimmed to fit. If nothing else is handy perhaps a ring cut from the neck of a plastic bottle of some sort. Plastics used for shampoo bottles is usually very soft.

6. Rasputin The Mad Monk of OF Oct 30, 2018