Forums Latest Members

Watch Choices In Relation To Profession

1. mementomori1983 Jun 5, 2013

I've had this burning topic in my head for a while and I wanted to get the opinions of the respective members of this forum. :)

I'm a public service professional for a large local government organization in California. As a manager in a public service entity, my job requires a lot of interaction with staff and, occasionally, with applicants for public welfare programs. As such, I tend to be very careful as to how I project my personal appearance. I tend to dress professionally, but not too overboard as to call attention to what could be perceived as displays of 'luxury'.

I've discovered the watch hobby recently, and this has put me in a dilemma. I really want to get a Rolex Sub, which I feel I could proudly wear for the rest of my life, but I'm concerned about the negative stigma that might be attached to wearing such a watch. So for now, I stick to understated and slim vintage watches that don't call too much attention.

So what do you guys think? Have you ever had your profession dictate your choice on watches?

Discuss! ::psy::

2. ulackfocus Jun 5, 2013

Buy another brand instead of Rolex. No normal person knows many names other than Rolex or maybe TAG as an expensive luxury watch. Snag a cool JLC Master series, a VC Overseas, an AP Royal Oak (can't believe I just recommended that), or any of a myriad of other watches that will not only fly under the radar but be more upscale than Rolex.

"Rolex - the watch you always wanted before you really knew about watches." :D

3. porschefan Jun 5, 2013

If you like a Rolex, buy it, and ignore the haters here! :)
    More than likely, you wear long sleeves at work, and if you wore the Sub, it will slide under a cuff easily. Put it on a croc or nice leather strap to help tone it down as well, if it is a concern.

Spy likes this.
  4. ulackfocus Jun 5, 2013