Forums Latest Members

Wanted: Automatic Watch Cleaning Machine... and advice

1. woodwkr2 Jul 22, 2013

Perhaps this is a question for Al, or one of the professional watchmakers on the forum. I'm a very serious amateur, and have had about enough of my $40 ultrasonic with assortment of pasta jars full of home brew cleaning solutions (based on the old recipes in the classic watchmaking texts).

This past weekend I was trying to service a simple manual wind mechanical movement. I keep the parts separated into basic groups, as I've yet to acquire a set of screw together parts baskets. So after about 45 minutes I finally had cycled through all of the movement parts and had everything nicely drying on kim wipes on my desk. As I went to assemble everything I noticed a fine white film coating most of the parts. Not what you want to see on a just "cleaned" watch. Perhaps it's time for a fluid change, or perhaps I needed a parts heater or more attention with the blower and loupe. It took me a further 2 hours to meticulously scrub the movement clean with some Rodico and Pegwood. A frustrating experience to say the least.

It got me thinking about getting some proper equipment and looking at the automatic watch cleaning machines by the likes of Greiner and Elma, as well as some of the old ones by L&R. I think if I'm going to get one, I'd like it to be fully automatic. But these machines run from $3k-13k depending on just how fancy they get.

I'm on a pretty tight budget. But then again I just dropped nearly 2k on a proper Witschi Watch Expert II because I couldn't stand the look of my ugly Chinese Timegrapher and felt that if I was going to be fixing up vintage project watches for sale, I ought to upgrade to some proper kit--or at least that's how I justified the purchase.