Forums Latest Members

Vintage Zenith verification allegedly from 1919, can anyone help?

1. TheBosston Jul 24, 2019

Hi, this is my first thread on this site, if I do anything wrong just tell me;)

I have spotted a vintage Zenith watch which is from 1919 due to the sellers description. I have some concerns about the case of the watch since it is not "Zenith" stemped.

What do you think about the originality of the watch? I have never seen such a case from Zenith before (but I'm new to Zenith watches).

Would appreciate any kind of help,
    TheBosston

1.jpg 1.jpg 9.jpg 1.jpg 9.jpg 10.jpg 4.jpg
    CaptainWinsor likes this.
  2. CaptainWinsor Jul 24, 2019

There’s a very similar example in Rössler’s book on p164 with probably the same movement, cal12. I did notice and I’m not familiar with parts, but part of the regulator arm? Looks to be missing. See red arrow in my photo. It does have Swill hallmarks on caseback and by serial number. The one in the book says 1928.
    B389C915-E099-44CE-A948-0D25A21FCDA2.jpeg
    105CE029-2AEF-4DF2-8433-4894197CCCA4.jpeg
    35903063-9C45-4DC0-A0CC-B270FEAE576E.jpeg

rfordo and TheBosston like this.
  3. TheBosston Jul 24, 2019

Thanks a lot CaptainWinsor,

The seller mentioned that the watch must be wound several times a day to keep approximate time, that could probably be explained with the missing piece of the regulator arm (which I did not see before ;) ).

Both, your example and mine have swiss hallmarks; I know now that this kind of cases were used by Zenith, the only thing that bothers me is that Zenith is not stemped on the case back.

Despite the fact of the missing "Zenith stemp", do you think that the watch could be more or less legit (crown seems to be a replacement crown compared to your picture) ?

Thank you!
    TheBosston

4. rfordo Jul 24, 2019