Forums Latest Members

Vintage watch market bubbles?

1. jsaen Jun 2, 2016

Hi all,
    I'm still new to watch collecting, and in the year I've been buying watches, I've definitely seen choice watches getting increasingly expensive, seemingly accelerated by the Phillips auction several weeks ago.

Several members here have suggested bubble. I'd like to learn more about watch bubbles, since I've never lived through one. Is there a good place or pointer to lessons from a previous bubble? This growth in price feels like it's across the board and not just tied to one specific type or brand. Are there previous examples that are this broad?

It would be cool if this was a bubble. I'd be sad about how much cheaper i could have gotten everything, but happy that I can now get more watches. On the other hand, if there is no popping, I'm going to be really sad if I wait at all for any watch I'll ever want. (okay, maybe I need to take a breath, it's only watches :) )

so bubble? no bubble?

Please teach me about watch market bubbles.

thanks.

2. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Jun 2, 2016

There have been some good articles recently posted on this forum. Vintage chrono are on the rise but how much of it is a market correction, and how much is a bubble.

Some people think a lot of it has been due to manipulation by watch investment funds. I think some of it was the rise of new luxury watch sales a few years ago and now those people are transitioning to what feels like a more affordable hobby with vintage which raises the prices with more demand.

I've not been at it long enough to comment on the broad market but I've seen a pattern in Rolexes. The 1655 Orange Hand Explorer II spiked then fell. Then the green glass Millgauss spiked and fell, now the Ceramic Daytona looks to be doing the same thing.

3. al128 unsolicited co-moderation giverer Jun 2, 2016

never followed it too closely, but werent there Rolex bubblebacks also hotter some years ago than now?