Forums Latest Members

**SCAMMER ALERT** Vintage-Watch-Collection

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vincereynard May 1, 2016

I bought a total of 4 watches from this dealer - http://www.vintage-watches-collection.com
    Run by a chap called Marcus Hardy. Based in Beverley Yorkshire.

It is an comprehensive site, which is what suckered me in in the first place.
    The basic philosophy that lies behind this website... is one of offering a very high standard of vintage watches for sale, primarily for buyers looking to purchase as serious investments...take a watch and methodically go through it step by step,..enabling even somebody with no previous knowledge of vintage wristwatches to have exactly the same information available to him as a seasonedconnoisseur ... In real terms, this creates a level playing field between the hardened professional and the total novice,”

First watch was an 1972 Omega 368.0847 (?), solid 18K, sold as mint. It looked it in the images. When it arrived it had a chip in the crystal and definite wear on the emblem. By definition – not mint. I paid £3000 it is worth maybe £2500 as gold bullion - not a great loss.

But neither mint nor the investment quality it was sold for. His excuse was that “I should expect some damage and marks on an old watch.” A phrase curiously missing from his sales patter. He patently has a different conception of the meaning of “mint”.

The big hit was a 1933, solid 18K, Le Coultre DuoPlan. If it was a man's watch worth £3000+ surely. But I had no idea, as was not told, that ladies “cocktail watches, had little market or value. I have also had it valued by a JLC expert, (he that wrote the book.), and it has been confirmed that it also has had a redial at some point.

Again his own site -