Forums Latest Members
  1. bbozic Mar 26, 2018

Hey guys,

I found this vintage Tissot with an unusual dial for sale. According to the sellers info its in working condition with unknown service history and the caliber is a 27 B-1 from 1958. I have never seen a Tissot with this kind of dial and hands before. But on the other hand im not a Tissot expert for that matter either. I think it looks beautiful and interesting. What do you think about it? Original and legit? 89ACE225-3220-47CF-90E0-FEAB6BCF2536.jpeg E0B32778-560D-44D5-8EA5-1A17C4EDFEB0.jpeg 21CC1025-F902-4898-854F-7CF66CD91A40.jpeg B9E81F81-2F8F-4DC3-BD7E-D306A23B8EF8.jpeg

Edited Mar 26, 2018
    Jerseyhammer likes this.
  2. Vitezi Mar 26, 2018

I suspect the dial has been repainted and relumed, but otherwise it is a legitimate model. Anytime you see black printing on a pristine white dial on a 60 year old watch, you should take a closer look. Indications of a repainted dial are best observed with very close-up photos, or in person with a loupe.

In your example, look for concentric circle grooves in the subdial. If the subdial looks smooth because the grooves have been filled in with paint, that's a dead giveaway that the dial has been repainted.
    upload_2018-3-26_10-27-19.png

Also, take a close look at the raised hour markers and raised logo. You're looking for paint that has crept up the sides of the raised markers. On original dials, the raised markers were applied after the dial had been painted. But on repainted dials the raised markers are commonly left in place during the repainting process, and the new paint tends to wick up the sides of the markers due to liquid adhesion. (I suspect the hands and markers have been repainted as well)
    upload_2018-3-26_10-30-4.png