Forums Latest Members

Vintage submariner, some help needed

1. Pianist A 12 inch WHAT?!?!? Oct 18, 2017

Hi everybody, I am not a rolex guy but an old woman showed me this submariner today. Her husband received it in 1965, but he recently passed away so she would like to sell the watch... I must tell her tomorrow if I am interested.
    I took some pictures with my phone, sorry for the quality.
    Thank you for your help.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. JamesL1680 Oct 18, 2017

this looks like a bit of a minefield, but i am not an expert...

1) can't tell from the photos, but is there a "swiss" marked beneath the chapter ring at 6 o'clock? if not, full stop right there...
    2) the chapter ring looks shaky
    2) dial and hands look relumed
    3) non-PCG case - if i'm not mistaken, most chapter ring dials were married with PCG cases on the 5513
    4) did you happen to snap a photo of the serial/could you provide the first few digits? PCG/chapter rings were generally earlier, if it was given as a gift in 1965 it's possible production was earlier, but that would be another tell
    5) who knows what's going on inside...

3. robrom Oct 18, 2017

It looks like it has a closed track around the minutes much like the 5512. Rolex did remove the close track on the 5513 however and this is only on the early first issues.
    The closed track looks awfully close to the chapter ring though.
    Outside off the closed minute track (underneath) almost the edge of the dial should read 'swiss' I can't see that.
    would you be able to remove the movement at all with dial and add a pic? It's hard to tell for sure but looks like an early 5513 from your pics.
    Could be a keeper!!

4. robrom Oct 18, 2017

IMG_7954.PNG Here is a correct example of a first issue 5513 that yours possibly resembles..

5. robrom Oct 18, 2017

I've read that back and I've made no sense.