Forums Latest Members
  1. Amochosto Jul 17, 2018

Hi Omega-forums members.

I have a 1960’s Omega Seamaster that my wife purchased for me because it was very similar to a lost watch worn by my late father, gifted to him by my mother when they got married.

I have looked around trying to learn more about it, for the most part when I have found Omegas they look like it they are labeled as de Ville on the dial. I believe it is a reference 165.0001 or 165.0002.

When I shine an UV light on the watch the hands light up, but there seems to have never been lume on the dial as currently configured, is this a sign the hands have been replaced or the dial redone?

It’s not in great shape visually, but I still get a kick from wearing it. Originally I didn’t really care if it was a Frankenwatch because it’s primary purpose is to remind me of my dad, but as I have been reading this forum I have started to formulate a few questions.

First please let me know what you think about the authenticity of this watch/dial etc.

Second, the watch looses about 27 seconds a day, I have come to the conclusion that I should no longer wear it until I get it serviced to avoid damaging the movement, am I on the right track or should I put it back into the rotation.

I know people will want to see pictures of the movement, but I have no confidence in my ability to open the case without causing any damage, so when and if I do get it serviced, I will ask the watchmaker to take pics for me.

The crystal is quite badly worn, but the dial looks in good shape, some imperfections that appear to be on the dial in these pictures are actually a result of scratches on the crystal.