Forums Latest Members
  1. blingris Jun 24, 2019

I recently inherited a vintage Seamaster from my grandparents after they passed and I haven't been able to see many examples with the diamonds on the dial. Any help with further information on this watchwould be great. Thanks.

IMG_20190624_175735.jpg IMG_20190624_175713.jpg MVIMG_20190623_194456.jpg

2. SG90 Jun 24, 2019

What an appropriate username... that must have been some bling grandad!:cool:

Someone here may be able to take an educated guess based off the case but you might be better going to a watchmaker and asking them to remove the case back. Take a photo of the movement and numbers on the case back and then post those images.
    You will get a more accurate answer.

Looks like a mixture of a lot of things tbh with the diamond markers plus the rose gold hands... I’m not an expert though so hang around for a bit!

DaveK likes this.
  3. blingris Jun 24, 2019

He definitely was a flashy guy between this and his curled mustache.

I'm taking it to an independent jeweler tomorrow to take a better look at it. Hopefully I can get some better pictures of the back and find out some more answers.

4. Davidt Jun 24, 2019

It's a front loader so hasn't got a caseback. Early pre-DeVille style.

Diamonds such as this were an option.

No minute markers tends to suggest one of the following:

1. the dial may have been cleaned or redone at some point
    2. The rules are slightly different for diamond dials.
    3. The diamonds aren't factory original from Omega and the dial was modified at point of sale by a jeweller who removed the minute markers as part of the process.

Edited Jun 24, 2019
  5. TNTwatch Jun 24, 2019

Rules certainly not the same for diamond dials, and based on the scripts it looks like an un-refinished dial. The case is likely solid gold - there should be some indication between the lower lugs at 5-7.