Forums Latest Members

Vintage Rolex bracelets and dating them.......help please!

1. mozambique Aug 10, 2017

Hi,
    Coming to Rolex's as a vintage Omega collector.
    Looking for a vintage Jubilee steel bracelet to go with a '59 DateJust. I gather that pre-76 bracelet clasps were stamped with production month and year (date code after 76). Would that apply to pre-1960 bracelets too? One seller has a '59 jubilee for sale, but I can't see a date stamp on it (trying to confirm with him).

What end links would match a 59 DateJust? Also, I am assuming that the watch and bracelet should have the same production year, or was there a little leeway i.e. a 59 watch could have originally been fitted with a 61 bracelet etc.?

Thanks in advance for any assistance!

McJamesT likes this.
  2. McJamesT Aug 10, 2017

I cant speak to this myself. I am a newbie at most watch related things but I look forward to reading when someone responds. These sorts of exchanges are endlessly fascinating to me. Good luck with your query.

3. TTG Suffers from watch FOMO. Aug 10, 2017

Usually Datejusts take 555 (later production) end links and earlier were 55s, some had no ref #s.
    As far as dating, not sure if the earlier C&I bracelets (rivet) were dated but I know some of the oval links were not.
    I have, for instance, a 60s JB square oval link bracelet from the 60's, which has not date.
    Are you looking for period correct, oyster, or jubilee?
    My personal preference is jubilee.
    Here are a couple of examples, oval and regular jubilee (62510):
    ov2.jpg ov1.jpg

Edited Aug 10, 2017
    Omega1 and McJamesT like this.
  4. mozambique Aug 10, 2017

Hey, thanks for the insight.