Forums Latest Members
  1. JonSpoon Dec 28, 2018

My great uncle brought this watch back from WWII. I’ve identified the Swiss silver marking (grouse) and the German marking (crown with crescent moon) on the case. I believe this indicates that the case was made by the Swiss for export to Germany.
    There is not visible serial number on the works. However, I did find a posting of works that look identical and that posting identifies the works as a Brandt Freres - predesesor of Omega.
    Does anyone here recognize the works? Can you confirm by the picture that is an old Omega?
    I’ve been quoted $300 US to have it cleaned, but I’m not sure if it will be worth cleaning.
    Your input is much appreciated.

806929D5-E7DF-4088-9C79-AFB7A3699B1D.jpeg 2EF47595-DFF5-42E3-9A63-5788D35DCD34.jpeg F877BE5C-C65C-4392-BF9B-5B1ADBCF8A3B.jpeg 5F5DD144-1D12-4298-B5EC-AD4D471696A1.jpeg
  2. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Dec 28, 2018

I'm no expert on these, but the movement looks much older than WWII. Maybe 1920's, maybe earlier? Very difficult to tell with these unbranded Swiss movements.

Unless the watch has a special sentimental value, which can't be measured in monetary terms, I don't think the value is there for spending that much on fixing it up.
    gatorcpa

airansun and dan7800 like this.
  3. dan7800 Dec 28, 2018

What military was your great uncle in? How did he acquire the watch?

My grandfathers were all WWII vets and I loved hearing their stories. Sadly they've all passed. I love hearing stories about old WWII vets.

Welcome to the forum

4. JonSpoon Dec 29, 2018

Thank you for your input.
    I agree that the watch was made much before the WWII era. If it does match the other works that I’ve seen, this is a late 19th century watch.
    I’m suspicious of the dial and think it has been replaced at some point.
    Thanks again for your input.

dan7800 likes this.
  5. JonSpoon Dec 29, 2018