Forums Latest Members
  1. Davudvl Jul 16, 2016

I guess this question can apply to any vintage watch, but since I primarily been collecting omegas, I decided to post it here.
    I have been collecting for several years and have always been taught to look for original unpolished cases, original dial and hands and preferably original lume. Basically just the way the watch has come out of the factory that year. I have been noticing now more than ever a lot of vintage pieces that look like they came out of the factory yesterday. The dials and hands looking pristine. How is it possible for a 30 or even 50 year old watch to have no patina and no wear? In many of the cases all the parts are original, and the most likely explanation is that a watch has a service dial or hands or both. If that is true, does it make the watch less desirable to a collector? Also is it possible for these watches to be in such mint shape without having service parts?

2. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Jul 16, 2016

Vintage dress watches that were worn once in a while by the owners or the 25 year gold watch that was never worn.
    Years ago it was common to have a everyday watch and a dress watch that was worn once in a blue moon or the that's too good to wear/ use syndrome like my parents had :D on some things.

I would say there are more watches that are all original than service replacements.

3. Finrod Felagund Jul 16, 2016

You have the "safe queens" that spend a lifetime in a safe of its owner and also the "NOS" (New Old Stock) watches that spend their lifetime in the drawer of a watch making shop.

I personnaly like NOS watches as I feel buying a brand new watch from another time, often older than I am... but many collectors do prefer a watch with patina and sign of wear.

4. Davudvl Jul 16, 2016

But even if the watch spent 20 years in a drawer, would it not still develop some patina?

5. marturx Jul 16, 2016