Forums Latest Members
  1. Ubaldo118 Jan 7, 2017

I recently purchased a Vintage Omega Seamaster ref.166010 cal.562 and I love it, but I have a few questions about it. I have been a watch enthusiast for about a year and a half now, but I only recently began purchasing watches, especially vintage watches. As a matter of fact, this Omega is my first Vintage watch. My main question pertains to condition. Sense I am new to the world of vintage it is a bit hard to properly judge condition, aside from some basic obvious aspects of the watch. To me the watch seems to have what I would perceive as normal wear and tear on a fifty two year old watch. It seems like the only major damage the watch has is that narly chip right over the crown under the bezel. It's a bit hard to see at first but it becomes obvious when you realize it's there. The other significant damage is on its hands. If you look closely the minute hand seems to have some dents. I would assume that they were caused by a clumsy watchmaker during a service at some point in its life. Even with these two things I do love the watch and I don't entend to ever sell it but I am curious to see if I got a fair deal or not. I realize I should have asked these questions before I bought the watch but I didn't have much time to contemplate, I had to buy it quickly or see it disappear forever. I purchased it for $450. What do you guys think? Did I get a decent deal or did I over pay? What would you rate the condition? And I would love to know what you guys think in general about the watch and the cal. 562 movement in the watch. Speaking about the movement. It seems to be running +18sec a day. Do you guys think it's due for a service or is it possible that it could be magnetized? Can it also be because of the age or the type of movement of the watch?
    Thank you! I hope to hear from you guys soon! I