Forums Latest Members

Vintage Omega Seamaster 300 - Ex Military Dating From Late 1960's

1. seamonster Respectable Member Jun 20, 2013

aaa.JPG
  2. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Jun 21, 2013

Respectable Member Seamonster

I suspect the hands are newer than the watch, other than that all looks OK to me (based on sellers disclosure) but I'm not an expert yet!

The excellent condition could be attributed to being in a kitbag for years, away from sunlight, wear and weather.

The eBay provenance has a certain validity as many military personnel "lost" their watches, paid a pittance, and kept them for profit or sentimentality.

Personally I would be prepared to gamble on it if I was in the market for an ex-mil version, but I have my lovely Watchco.

Bear also in mind that I have consumed 1500 millilitres of Irish wisdom, so my judgement, while well intentioned, may need verification from those more educated in ex-mil 300s.

Respectably Yours

Jim

PS: To all other members, Seamonster is the only person who I will address with the salutation "Respectable Member".
    Respect returns respect.

3. seamonster Respectable Member Jun 21, 2013

Respectable Member JiminOz

I thank you for the information, regarding this SM 300. It is not that I am going to buy it. At this time, I cannot afford to buy anything that is of interest to me. Gathering knowledge from members of this forum costs me nothing and I really appreciate.

I think all members of this forum are respectable and of course, including your good-self.

Thank-you.

4. MyVintageOmega Jun 21, 2013

I agree......the hands are a later replacement. Would love to see the movement (what cal) & condition. For a watch in such fine condition and wasn't overly worn......what happened to the bracelet? Thanx for the post.

5. pitpro Likes the game. Jun 21, 2013

Crown does not appear to be screw down as Seller states, And as normally seen on