Forums Latest Members
  1. Jheredia Apr 2, 2017

Hi all. My name is Jason and I am new to collecting vintage Omega watches as well a new member of this forum. I am a long time reader however and have really enjoyed the wealth of information here. I hope to be able to contribute as well in the future.

I have a question for the group. I had my Seamaster with cal 501 serviced by a watchmaker in Texas, where it was cleaned, oiled and regulated. He sent me pictures of the regulation, which showed a rate of -3 sec/day. However when it was shipped out and arrived to me, the watch was now at a rate of over a min/day. Is this normal for vintage Omega movements? I asked the watchmaker and he told me its because its an old watch and will not keep the accuracy of a new watch. Can anybody shed any light on this? I really appreciate any thoughts and input.

2. Kmart Apr 2, 2017

No, +1 min/day is not normal for a serviced watch. If he told you that "it will not keep the accuracy of a new watch" you may want to find a different watchmaker...

AveConscientia and OmegaLover like this.
  3. michael22 Apr 2, 2017

Did you wind it?

4. Jheredia Apr 2, 2017

Thanks guys for your responses. Yes it was fully wound.

michael22 likes this.
  5. X350 XJR Vintage Omega Aficionado Apr 2, 2017

Generally true but really depends on the condition of the movement.

Archer likes this.
  6. Jheredia Apr 2, 2017

Is it possible for it to have been bumped out of regulation during shipping? The watchmaker said the movement was in good condition but here's a pic you can take a look at.

s-l1600 (1).jpg
  7. Canuck Apr 2, 2017