Forums Latest Members
  1. mactab Jul 14, 2015

As a newbie I was looking at a new DeVille coaxial or Aqua Terra captains watch. Something that I can hand down to future generations. However on reading through the forums it seems that a modern Omega is less desirable and less likely to hold future value not that I suppose that is an issue if it will be passed down son to son etc
    However I'm now considering a piepan or constellation vintage in as nice a condition as poss ( papers and box a bonus?) 564 movement.
    Would £1000 do the job? UK dealers? I would be anxious about buying online.
    Thanks for any advice offered.

2. Geordie Jul 14, 2015

Should be more than enough. I just sold a nice one for £700. Bare in mind the service cost when buying. A recently serviced watch will save you a packet.

3. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Jul 14, 2015

New Omegas are great, its just that all modern watches lose a bit of their original purchase price initially

blubarb and italy1861 like this.
  4. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Jul 14, 2015

And will cost you more up front. I think the "modern" exception is the Seamaster 2254.50 or 2054.50. They're the same watch with different bracelets.

5. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Jul 14, 2015

And possibly even more later as most eBay sellers' idea of "serviced" is regulation and a crystal polish, not a full service.

efauser likes this.
  6. Geordie Jul 14, 2015

Buy what you like not whats good for the future. That way you get pleasure out of wearing it. I have new and vintage but right now im in love with my new planet ocean 45.5mm

Which Watch Next likes this.
  7. mactab Jul 15, 2015

Thank you for the advice. I have decided that I will be seeking a Vintage 60's Omega Constellation with date, caliber 564, PiePan or not. The main criteria is that it has be very good original condition and will spend a little bit more cash if required to get a good one.
    The hunt is on!!

8. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Jul 15, 2015