Forums Latest Members

Vintage Omega in La La Land

1. panopticonison Jan 4, 2017

Happy New Year, Omega friends. I highly recommend seeing La La Land when you have a spare moment, one because it's excellent, but more importantly because Ryan Gosling sports a beautiful vintage Omega throughout the film:

[​IMG]

It caught my eye immediately, and I spent much of the film hoping there'd be a nice shot of it. There is, towards the end of the movie. It looked like a 1950's/early 60's Geneve or Constellation to me, but I'm an amateur, so perhaps some other cinephile/Omega fanatic will be able to recognize it.

2. jens0125 knows that watches were made to be worn Jan 4, 2017

True class +1

panopticonison likes this.
  3. TLIGuy Jan 4, 2017

Maybe he will sport a Speedmaster in his next movie.

Actor Ryan Gosling will portray Neil Armstrong in Universal Studios' biopic about the Apollo 11 astronaut, "First Man," to be directed by Damien Chazelle.

Gosling, who currently stars in Chazelle's latest movie, "La La Land," now in theaters, secured the deal to appear as the first moonwalker this month.

news-122916a-lg.jpg

gemini4 and panopticonison like this.
  4. Tubber Jan 4, 2017

A Canadian playing the part of an American hero? Ain't that a bit like an Aussie playing William Wallace or an Irishman playing Rob Roy?

5. Canuck Jan 4, 2017

How about William Shatner (Canadian, surprise surprise) playing Captain Kirk in Star Trek? Maybe we should compile a list of names of Canadian actors who've made it big in movies or television! Raymond Burr, Jim Carey, Leslie Neilson, and the list goes on and on! Unusual? Not really!

mydeafcat likes this.
  6. ahartfie The black sheep in the Spee-ee-eee-eedmaster flock Jan 4, 2017

What caught my eye in the photo is that the transmission gear selector appears to be in Park. At least the ignition switch is in the ON position.

I don't remember when I first started noticing this - within the past 2 years - but now I can't stop.