Forums Latest Members
  1. davideansa Dec 8, 2017

HI all,

I recently purchased a vintage Omega from chrono24.
    The watch is in incredible conditions and everything looks great to me.
    Small (or big?) issue:

the glass actually moves and with the fingertip I can rotate in several times!
    The watch is absolutely not water resistant also because the previous owner said it's circa from 1965/70 and he can't guarantee it anymore.

Questions:

1) everything in the watch looks good to you? (I'm a newbie and I could really use some expert eye)
    2) have you ever seen glasses that spin around? Is this a big issue?

Attached you'll find few pictures

thank you all!

(I hope everything in this message is compliant with the forum rules)

Trusted-Checkout-54662.jpg Trusted-Checkout-546625.jpg
  2. Canuck Dec 8, 2017

Yes. I have seen loose crystals before. Should that be? A genuine Omega crystal with the internal reflector ring, properly fitted, will never (or should’t ever) loosen. ! So yes! A big deal. Could leak, could fall out. A tight crystal does not guarantee water resistance. So wear it in water at your peril. Every water resistant watch is water resistant, until it leaks.

davideansa likes this.
  3. davideansa Dec 8, 2017

Hi Canuck and thank for your answer!

based on your experience, knowing that the watch is quite old, would be reasonable to try to fix it and or to complain with the previous owner about this issue?
    Or perhaps even if the crystal is loose I can live with it without being too worried? (Anyway I won't ever wear it in water but just wear it normally)

thank you again :)

4. shaun hk Fairy nuffer Dec 8, 2017

Hi David,
    If you are walking outside and the crystal falls off without you noticing then the hands and dial could easily become badly damaged.