Forums Latest Members
  1. krusty3109 Jul 28, 2019

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum and was hoping that you guys could help me with some questions. I'm interested in purchasing a vintage IWC watch but don't have any experience in purchasing a pre-owned luxury watch.

I've met the seller, viewed the watch and if I should decide to get it, I am planning to get it authenticated, just to be safe. However, there were little areas of rust on the back of the watch and that's a concern to me. Would it possible to remove the rust? Also, would this kind of repair cost a lot? From what I could see, the rust looked like it's eating into the casing quite a bit. So because of the position of where the rust is at, if it should get removed, would there be an unevenness in the casing, causing it to not be secured tightly and the possibility of water entering the casing? I've attached a photo of it for reference.

I apologise if these questions sound dumb but I'm new to all this and am still learning. Would really appreciate all the help I can get, in helping me make a decision about this watch. Thank you in advance for all your replies!

IMG_0935.PNG IMG_0941.JPG
  2. DaveK Yoda of Yodelers Aug 1, 2019

Welcome to OF! For future posts, members here can direct their energy to your post most easily if the title is more clear, such as “Opinions needed on possible purchase of IWC. ;)