Forums Latest Members

Vintage Chronographs - Redial or not? Help me spot them out...

1. hermes4 Jan 3, 2017

I'm aware that there have been any Frankens/Fakes - I'm quite new to the scene... what do you think of this watch..?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Jan 3, 2017

Give us your first thoughts.

What do you think of the dial?

Elaborate.

3. hermes4 Jan 3, 2017

I can see some oxidation marks above 6 and around 5.

Upon closer inspection I can see that the lines for the seconds and minute markers do not fall within the circle...

Is it a redial..?

Also the subdial fonts are inconsistent with the main dial...

Edited Jan 3, 2017
  4. Northernman Lemaniac Jan 3, 2017

That thing has REDIAL written all over it.... In THICK lettering.
    It is really one of the poorer redials I have seen in a while.

hermes4 likes this.
  5. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Jan 3, 2017

Redial

Do your homework on vintage Ulysse and then do it again then get someone to check it.

hermes4 likes this.
  6. Edward53 Jan 3, 2017

I feel the OP's pain here as I find chrono redials a lot harder to tell than other watches and some are very good indeed (but not this one). The most obvious giveaway (and N-man has posted it while I was typing) is the heavy, blurry lettering. It looks clumsy and undefined, and the dial looks generally "wrong" with no sheen, all dead and flat which you wouldn't expect in a quality chrono. In the first pic there are hints of discoloration below the unmarked dial finish. Also the movement does not look all that clean but the dial is pristine, which is always a bit suspicious as you want to see consistency of condition in a watch.

Some chronos just sing out correct, others sing out redial. It's the ones in between that cause the difficulty. If you are doubting a dial, that's your mind telling you to leave it alone.

7. Northernman Lemaniac Jan 3, 2017