Forums Latest Members
  1. wasabipea Oct 20, 2012

hi all, newbie here... and would like everyone's expertise.

I am looking to buy this watch:
    1960s Omega Manual Winding Movement. 17Jewels, Caliber 650
    14k white gold
    2 rounds diamonds of unknown clarity and color (not 100%sure if it's even real diamond, o is it crystals)
    14mm dia excluding crown

Can you please provide any knowledge if the watch looks out of ordinary, authencity, the condition...

Does the watch look like a Franken watch
    please provide me any of your opinions.
    much appreciated.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. MyVintageOmega Oct 20, 2012

[​IMG] A similar watch 1960's in 14k gold being sold for $399///// I would submit that members would need larger Images of your watch to sense a good take on it.If the diamonds are real of coarse the value is considerably more. Just a guess but from your images it seems like a nice peice in good condition but larger images would invite a better critic. IMO

3. wasabipea Oct 20, 2012

Thanks for reply. Pls see my clearer pics
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I now await for this watches arrival

Any opinions welcome

Ta

4. X350 XJR Vintage Omega Aficionado Oct 20, 2012

It is quite genuine, serial number dates to ca 1966/67.

USA delivery quite typical of the period and appears to be in very nice condition.

5. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Oct 20, 2012

They generally call them cocktail watches, the sort of thing a lady would wear with a formal dress

6. wasabipea Oct 20, 2012

Thx guys.. Think it's going to be my everyday watch..

I paid about 550 for it....

Do you guys reckon I overpaid?

7. cicindela Steve @ ΩF Staff Member Oct 20, 2012

A lot will depend on a gemologist evaluation of the stones (easy to get) But if you did not by terribly much.

8. wasabipea Oct 21, 2012

Apologies, can you pls explain if there is a price difference if a watch is 17 jewel, 21jewel, 24 jewel?
    Thanks