Forums Latest Members
  1. screwzlewz May 24, 2013

Hello,

If valuations are not allowed then I apologize in advance. Also, this is not a thread intended for trolling, I'm trying to figure out what I have, what's the value, and what to do next.

What I believe have is a 1969 Seamaster 300. I believe it is 1969 per the date stamp on the bracelet. I have not opened up the watch yet, as there are a couple of things I need to think about first.

The backstory is as follows. The original owner died in Vietnam in 1970 and the personal items went back to his family. They have been sitting in storage at the family house since that time and the last remaining family member just passed away in February. There was an estate sale, I picked up a few watches.The Seamaster was one of them. I can also provide proof of the backstory if needed but that's for another time.

As far as I can tell (i'm a Rolex hobbyist) the case is prisitine and appears to have never been polished. The caseback has some scratches on it, but no gouges. As you can see in the images, the crystal needs a good polishing, but the dial is flawless and the patina is to die for. If this had been a DRSD then I'd say this was a museum piece with the exception of a hairline crack in the insert.

In any event, the watch is running and it is keeping great time. I know in my head I need to send this in for a movement service, and I probably will. However, when I bought this I had every intention to flip it. So, does anyone have any idea what a Seamaster300 would run for that has been sitting for 43 years in storage with it's original 1039 bracelet and 516 endlinks?

Once again, I am not selling this right now, so please no PM's. And If I have offended the MODs then please delete my post and email me and let me know I was in violation of such a rule (which I could not find).

Thanks,

Pete

369_1.JPG

2. pitpro Likes the game. May 24, 2013

$3400. with assumptions you gave made. all day. Don't take less.