Forums Latest Members

Using eBay to kite loans - a new one on me

1. LouS Mrs Nataf's Other Son Staff Member Apr 18, 2015

I've been doing this for a few years, and here's a shenanigan I haven't run into before:

Seller ID on ebay is wabiwatch out of Arizona.

I buy a watch by Best Offer on March 25. I pay by PayPal.

I paid on March 25, within hours.
    He tells me he mailed the watch. He spins a story about how the post office lost the package (he claims he put it in a mailbox instead of turned it in at a window). Taste the drama:

From the seller:
    "I'm trying not to think about this. Fact is in a few hours I'm going to be ~2000 poorer and minus a supremely rare watch. Been checking the tracking every 5 mins for 6 days. This is making me physically ill. It's actually been since Thurs since I have received any mail . USPS employees all hide behind the bureaucracy and don't really answer questions."

He promised me a refund if the package does not appear by April 6. By an amazing coincidence, the package appears in tracking on April 6.

tracking clearly shows all he did was print a label on March 27, and that he mailed it on April 6.

Untitled.png

It will come as little surprise that I received a nonfunctioning watch - movement was frozen, couldn't even wind it.

I open a return case.

He writes me:
    "You don't need the return request, just return it. What you're doing with these is freezing the amount of the item from my paypal and bank accounts, It puts a hold on funds making my life pretty much unlivable.
    Once you have it from me in writing that I'll do the return I can't and wouldn't want to go back on my word. These things are for when we cannot agree or are adversarial. I'm not."

The return package arrives at his address April 13. No one is there to sign. It goes to the post office. He doesn't pick it up until April 16, the day before it would be sent back to me according to the way Priority Express is handled.

Untitled2.png