Forums Latest Members

Unknown Omega Watch found at Goodwill for $2.99 || Any ideas what it is?

1. winfieldhj Nov 4, 2014

Hey guys,
    Was shopping around for a halloween costume and I found this watch on sale at Goodwill for $2.99. Needless to say I took the gamble, just seeing if you guys have any idea what it is.

*Photos are below*
    |
    V

Let me preface with these two items.
    1) The watch has been seen by a watchsmith and he CONFIRMED the authenticity of the watch, he lacks the tool to unlock the back (I am also a poor college student)
    2) Being that I am a poor college student, I have not been able to find the time or money to open that back. Any other imaginative ideas would be appreciated.

I Did some research already and found out some of the following (some of it is be incomplete)
    - It is a Men's watch dating made no later than somewhere in the 1960's
    - It's 10k-gold filled.
    - I believe it to be a precursor of, or a Omega Gent's model watch.
    - Dial Cover is made of a plastic-like material (very scuffed and sounds sharp to the tap, like hard plastic)
    -The band is a Speidel 10K.G.P. top caps (not sure what the K.G.P. stands for but I assume something with karat gold)
    ^ above is important because I believe Speidel only made watch bands for a limited time in the mid 50's.
    - The only text on the actual watch is "Omega Automatic" on the face, and "10KGOLDFILLED" on the back
    - The backplate holes are consistent with Omega's however the diameter of mine seems to be small than that of the ones I have researched. Simply put, more of the watch case is present on bottom than other watches which seem to have their holes closer to the sides.
    - I have found many similar watches online like the mariner (I believe) and a couple that also had the gold face plate, however their arms were straight and mine are slightly curved