Forums Latest Members
  1. wilson331 Apr 9, 2018

Hey watch peeps, so here is my latest UG no date polerouter with the 138 SS bumper movement. I'm really new to the vintage world, so i need some advice on the finishing for this watch.
    When i received it, i realized the polishing on the watch is a little weird. Around the dial it has an uneven brushed finish and the lugs were very polished.
    I want to know what i could do to the case to it to make it look as close as possible to a NOS polerouter. Like how was the case finished originally? If that makes sense. Everything else seems original, but if anything looks off please point it out. I hope the pictures help.

Thanks guys :)

IMG_0839.JPG IMG_0840.JPG IMG_0841.JPG IMG_0842.JPG IMG_0843.JPG IMG_0844.JPG IMG_0845.JPG IMG_0846.JPG IMG_0847.JPG IMG_0848.PNG
  2. jumpingsecond Apr 9, 2018

Forget the polish for a moment- you may need a legit original dial to get it closer to NOS.
    Hopefully I'm wrong and someone will certainly correct me if so but it seems like the text is a bit crude and the crosshair is too thick from what I'm used to seeing on these.

heccsat and wilson331 like this.
  3. Vitezi Apr 9, 2018

The dissertation on Polerouter dials is here:
    https://omegaforums.net/threads/pol...-a-brief-survey-with-some-observations.35888/

As you surmise, your case has been heavily polished which unfortunately is an all-too-common fate for these lovely watches. There are many threads and pictures of original case finishes on this forum, so I might advise you pull up a comfy chair, get something good to drink, and search on Polerouter. Over twenty pages of forum posts await you. :)

10H10 and wilson331 like this.
  4. Mazoue Apr 9, 2018