Forums Latest Members
  1. yousufn Nov 18, 2017

Hi,

Before I proceed, I should apologize in advance in case I'm posting this query in the wrong fashion or in the wrong place, as it's my first time on this forum. I have a complete lack of knowledge regarding quality timepieces and I would appreciate it if you guys could share some of your knowledge with me.

I also want to apologize for not giving you pictures of the movement or the inside of the case, but I didn't want to fiddle with anything without knowing what I was doing. If anyone can link to a video or post regarding how to do that, I'd be happy to update this thread with more photos.

Now, on to the watches (pics at the bottom of the post) :--

I found two 'Omegas' in a family-member's old things. He had a pretty extensive collection of 'cheap' watches, but I wouldn't be too surprised if it were found that he had a couple of nicer ones too. I'm reasonably certain they have not been used in several decades. If I had to make a really wild guess, I would say they may have been acquired some time in the '50s to the '70s.

The golden 'Seamaster' began ticking away a few moments after I picked it up. I gave the crown a couple of rotations. I strapped it on and a few hours later it still seemed to be keeping time. The back of the case is blank.

The silver 'Constellation' doesn't seem to be in working order. The back of the case has some kind of imprint on it.

I would like to know: (i) if there is a possibility they may be genuine, (ii) if so, what their date of manufacture may have been, (iii) should I be taking better care of these, getting them serviced or repaired, and (iv) any other interesting information you guys may be able to share?

Thanks in advance!

IMG-1474.JPG IMG-1473.JPG IMG-1472.JPG IMG-1471.JPG IMG-1470.JPG IMG-1469.JPG IMG-1468.JPG

dall-houston, Fordex, Spruce and 5 others like this.
  2. mikechi22 Nov 18, 2017