Forums Latest Members
  1. BradKlein Oct 1, 2018

Greetings. I am a rather typical newbie to the forum, except that I'm not trying to buy or sell anything. I have these two legacy watches that haven't been worn much in the past 20 years, and I'm planning to treat them to servicing and new bands or stainless bracelets.

I've begun searching the forum for advice and info, but I'm happy to receive any from members who have experience along these lines. Both were serviced at some point in their lives, probably in the 1990s, and have probably seen only a few months of use since then. Both working fine.

Any suggestions for cleaning and lubricating, and whether that is even necessary?
    Any pointers on buying modern reproduction bands - they seem to be available online? (these are the unusual 'tool 107' backs that require special bands)
    As for a stainless bracelet, perhaps it's better to look for a vintage one on ebay rather than a new repro - assuming those are being made? (I have not found one yet)

I'm located in NYC which may be an advantage or not. There are two Omega Boutiques in town, though I have not visited them.

Thanks for any info. BK

Omega Geneve BK.jpg

ahsposo and Vitezi like this.
  2. dragoman Oct 1, 2018

They both are considered Dynamics, as they have the funny strap.

It is not difficult to get leather, or faux leather, straps at ebay. I wouldn't bother in getting an orignial vintage one, as they are now so old that they tend to self destroy after two or three uses, specially the suede ones.

As for the stainless steel bracelets, I would take for granted that all that are now on sale at ebay are modern aftermarket ones (fakes, if you want), and that your only chance to get an original non-beaten up would be to get a ring and then look for a vintage bracelet that fits:

[​IMG]

There was also an adaptor to fix regular leather bands, but it is unobtainable now.

BradKlein and Vitezi like this.
  3. Vitezi Oct 1, 2018