Forums Latest Members

Tudor Submariner "No Crown Guard"

1. Cos270 Jan 6, 2022

Came across this on eBay:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/393836019344Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

Personally, I really dig subs/divers without crown guards, despite the "loss" in functionality. I'm far from an expert on vintage Rolex or Tudor, though. I'm partial to Tudor and if the choice is between a vintage sub and a brand new black bay (I like the smaller BB36), I'd be tempted to pick the vintage. I'm expecting this to be a frankenwatch based on the pics and description, but the price is tempting...

Any Tudor or Rolex aficionados want to chime in? Run away, or make an offer (knowing the many flaws)?

thelinendial likes this.
  2. impalla62ss Jan 6, 2022

It is best to post pictures, so the images can be seen after the post is gone.
    tudor.jpg

thelinendial and Cos270 like this.
  3. Cos270 Jan 6, 2022

Thanks, much appreciated! Couldn't figure out a good way to do that from eBay. Still getting used to OF...

4. Dan S Jan 6, 2022

My first thought is that this is entirely fake.

5. Cos270 Jan 6, 2022

Certainly crossed my mind!

6. Canuck Jan 6, 2022

Very early Rolex Submariner cases didn’t have crown guards. Since Rolex and Tudor shared cases on the Submariner models, this one looks legitimate to me. If the case style number stamped inside the case back was made available, it could be checked out. I would think this one might be mid to late 1950s.

7. Dan S Jan 6, 2022

If you look at the eBay photos, the entire case, case-back, bezel, and bracelet look absolutely brand new, and the case profile (especially from the side) does not look vintage to me. The price is absurdly low.

Faz, thelinendial and Scarecrow Boat like this.
  8. Cos270 Jan 6, 2022