Forums Latest Members
  1. Yogi Nov 16, 2016

Was taking a look at both of these watches and was wondering if anyone here on the forums had any opinions on the differences between the two or owned one?

Aesthetically speaking I feel the 79220n has a nicer look with the rose logo and curved print. However the 79230n packs the in house MT5602 movement. I have been reading reviews and comparisons on both, but haven't seen much here on the forums.

I'm on the fence between the small aesthetic differences and the value in having a solid in house movement. I understand the ETA has stood the test of time, just looking to see what a few others think. Any responses are much appreciated. I'm very new to the watch scene, but value the knowledge and input of the members here.

2. Nobel Prize Spell Master! Nov 16, 2016

PPPPP....pppppp....ppppp...pictures?

mikechi22 and oddboy like this.
  3. gr8sw Nov 16, 2016

I prefer the older ETA model... I understand the new in-house movement also makes the new case thicker by ~1.5mm

BlueBoy and Foo2rama like this.
  4. mattonthewater Nov 16, 2016

ETA. Frankly the point of Tudor was to have all of the quality of Rolex but WITHOUT an inhouse movement. The new ones kinda buck that tradition (I understand the reasons, but heritage sake tells me Tudor's should have ETA's and yes, I know WAY back they did use some Rolex calibers, but that stopped rather quickly)

ossfm likes this.
  5. Jking something intelligent and witty... Nov 16, 2016

I prefer the dial of the 79220N myself...I almost pulled the trigger on one a few months back but unfortunately my car ate my watch budget. Honestly I'm fine with the ETA as it's a known workhorse. Sometimes you never know what issue may appear with a new movement (here's looking at you Omega 2500a/b/c)...couple that with the fact I find it more visually appealing with a lower cost and to me it's an easy choice. But I'm sure you'd get an outstanding watch no matter which you choose.