Forums Latest Members

Trigger warning: ignored and abused Seamaster

1. madmanmike Jul 26, 2019

TLDR at the end.

Hi guys, new kid here. My tale of woe will be presented here, as well as, hopefully, a happy ending (no, not that kind).

58 years old now, never thought about watches until 2004ish. I'm pretty rough on watches, so I had conditioned myself to just buying a cheap beater watch, abusing it for a year, then buy another. Timex, etc. Then one day in 2004 I was in Vegas, in the Forum Shops at Caesar's Palace. Chatting with the salesgirl in Roman Times, she asked me why I didn't just invest in a better quality watch that would take a beating for years?

One thing lead to another and I walked out with a 2531.8000 Seamaster. It was not bling to me. I'm a diving instructor and I made over 500 dives a year. This watch accompanied me for 9 years and thousands of dives. Performed flawlessly with one exception. Sometime in 2009 I grabbed the watch of the dresser and noticed the helium stem was gone. Sent it in and Omega fixed the watch and performed a service. More diving. This was a working watch. Not babied. Not coddled. Beaten all the time.

Then, sometime in 2013, I noticed some condensation under the crystal. I figured I got almost 10 years out of the watch and I didn't have $500 laying around, so the watch went into a drawer. In 2016, I took the watch out and checked it. The time could be set and the date could be set, but no movement. Feels like it's winding, but no timekeeping. I found a local AD and dropped it off. A few days later, they called and told me the movement was corroded and could not be fixed. Ok. Back in the drawer. Like I said, abused.

9BAFB927-5433-426E-A891-3FB97C2FB44A.jpeg 1E83CD68-4295-4094-B8D7-D7CB35DCCFED.jpeg