Forums Latest Members

Total Noob needs information please.

1. OttawaMan Jul 1, 2013

I'm trying to amass some details about my watch. I bought it for it's reputation, it's status, and quite honestly how it looked on my wrist. I don't know the first thing about movements or references etc. But I'd like to become more educated so I hang out here and soak in what I can. My watch is an SMP 300m with the ceramic bezel. 41mm size with the 'James Bond' bracelet.

According the 'extensive' documentation that came with the watch I've determined that it's an Omega. ;)

The website tells me the movement is a 2500 and the reference is 212.30.41.20.01.003. but I have heard something about a 2500D. I want to update my personal notes on this watch. How do I know if I have a 2500 or 2500D? (and what happened to A,B,C ?) I've already noticed that the bracelet doesn't have the ceramic beads for the diver's extension so a change was made there at some point as well. I see a reference on the bracelet that says 1515/816.

So I guess my questions are what can you tell me changed from 2500 to 2500D, which one do I have and what about the non-ceramic bead bracelet...is mine older or newer?

Thanks for everyone's assistance as always.

2. ulackfocus Jul 1, 2013

There are 4 versions of the 2500 - A, B, C, and D. Saying 'It has a 2500' is like saying 'That's a Ford Mustang'. Well, what model Mustang? A 6 cylinder, a 5.0 8 cylinder, a GT?

The A and B versions had a bph of 28,800 which is standard for the industry but didn't work with the modified co-axial escapement well. The C version had the bph lowered to 25,200 in an attempt to correct the problems but that didn't work so well either. In the D version, Omega used the co-axial in the way it was designed, meaning it worked on 3 planes instead of the modified 2 plane execution used in the A, B, and C versions. I think the D version was introduced in mid to late 2011.

3. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Jul 1, 2013