Forums Latest Members
  1. NobitaD Jun 20, 2018

Hi, newbie here. I was asked to post a new thread here.
    Saw a Tissot Antimagetic at an auction house. I am interested but the case looks different from what I could found on the google. Initially it has no movement shot but managed to obtain the movement shots from them. It appears to me that the case, crown and movement are wrong for the dial. I believe it should have a cal 27 or 27-T1 movement. Your thoughts please.

It is advertised as "A gent's Tissot Antimagnetique wristwatch, stainless steel case with subsidiary seconds dial and 15 jewel movement, serial no. 2016764, case no. 6351, case width 33mm"

Photos are from auction house. Sorry for the size.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Vitezi and Spruce like this.
  2. michael22 Jun 20, 2018

Never seen a square movt in a round case before.
    I am ignorant though.

3. Vitezi Jun 20, 2018

Welcome to the forum! :)

The watch looks OK to me, with a nice patina and minimal case polishing. The serial number dates it to about 1948. The movement itself appears to be a caliber 17.5-1 which was commonly used in Tissot's round watches of that time. The signed steel screwback case is correct.

The crown does not seem to sit quite right against the case, but it is likely to be a replacement anyway. At that time (the late '40s) the crown would have been unsigned, so a watchmaker skilled at working with vintage watches can easily find a more appropriate crown for you. Give that watch a sympathetic movement service, a new crown, and a hand polish only (avoid a machine polish) every so often, and you'll have a nice timekeeper that will last another 70 years.

4. NT931 Jun 20, 2018

Yup, i've seen a few of these rectangular Tissot movt in round cases as well (another example here, with very similar caseback markings).