Forums Latest Members

Time to thin out the flock

1. voere pawn brokers are all about $$$ Jun 22, 2016

I have been collecting watches for a couple decades. I never sold a watch but traded many watches with friends and dealers. I am thinking of getting rid of the watches that I have multiple examples of. I am not getting rid of my high end watches but the lower end to mid grade stuff.

I will use the funds to upgrade my collection. My plan is putting them on Ebay and hope for the best. Very low reserve and let the market dictate the selling price. Every time I think about selling them I think what the hell why bother So the watches go back into the collection and are never worn. The watchmaker I deal with tells me to service the watches prior going on Ebay which would be an added cost to me. He feels they will bring more $$ The watches run fine but the service history is unknown.
    Any thoughts or advice?

2. BlackTalon This Space for Rent Jun 22, 2016

Sell them and buy a handful of watches you really want/ like and will wear. As far as eBay goes, do you have much in the way of reviews? You might have a hurdle on the more valuable pieces if you are a seller with no/ almost no feedback.

As far as figuring potential values, you can always search eBay for completed auctions.

3. voere pawn brokers are all about $$$ Jun 22, 2016

Plenty of feedback as a buyer none as seller as a buyer things watch parts, straps and other small items. VBG I just purchased a main spring for a cal 260 these are the small type items I purchased.

4. Bushido Jun 22, 2016

I think if the watches are running well and you intend to go low reserve auction, skip the cost of servicing. It is a guaranteed additional overhead that may or may not see a return on investment. Put that information into the description of the individual pieces. In past discussions on these forums, preferences seem split from members on paying more or not for recent service.