Forums Latest Members
  1. dan7800 Aug 26, 2016

Hi all,

I have a 1968 Seamaster Cosmic which is very valuable to me since I inherited it from my grandfather who I was very close to. It is my daily wear watch and is nearly entirely original.

In the last month, I've noticed that manually winding the watch can be tough as the winding mechanism often gets caught and won't move (It feels like the watch is fully charged and I cannot turn the knob anymore, even when it isn't fully wound) and sometimes the quickset feature doesn't do anything.

Is it time for more maintenance, or is the damage already done to the watch? I can live with the watch as it is, I just don't want to cause any more damage to the watch, but also don't want to pay $$$ in unnecessary repair costs if I can avoid it.

It was maintained a few years ago by a local watch repair place.

Thanks all

2. Artifice Aug 26, 2016

Im still new here but I would like to ask of you are able to open the caseback and post pictures? I think it would be much easier for the members here to check if you can post pictures of the movement.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. mondodec Editor Constellation Collectors Blog Aug 26, 2016

Sounds to me that you need to take your Cosmic for another excursion to a watchmaker.

4. François Pépin Aug 27, 2016

I think the answer is already in your message: time for a service!

Even if there is already a damage done, a service would deal with it.

5. japester79 Aug 27, 2016

Hi Dan, my father in laws cosmic was in a poor state. The rubber o ring was failed, the time wouldn't set and it wouldn't wind. Sent it to my watchmaker and a couple of weeks later.....

[​IMG]

Some new parts, services and re assembled and working a treat!

Get it to a watchmaker and have it's life brought back

JP

GuiltyBoomerang likes this.
  6. GuiltyBoomerang Aug 27, 2016