Forums Latest Members
  1. Clancy Eccles Dec 30, 2015

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Omega, but not watches, having bought my first Speedmaster Pro 3592.50 shortly after a Spectre MCO this year. I love both pieces, and I am having a problem with the spring bars on the Speedie.

I have tried the Omega springbar tool included with the Spectre set and the things just don't move with any ease. I don't even get any movement. Is this normal? Are the SELs putting some excess pressure on this? The bracelet is a 1479 bracelet.

I'll try to add pics or a video asap.

thanks,
    Jon

Edited Dec 30, 2015
  2. Clancy Eccles Dec 30, 2015

Ok, I tried a small tiny localized application of WD40. Every attempt fails...it's like they are welded in place. I'll try some other oil at home later.

3. Darlinboy Pratts! Will I B******S!!! Dec 30, 2015

Should not be that difficult to remove, especially new.

Careful with too much pressure... one slip and.. :eek::eek:::facepalm2::

4. Clancy Eccles Dec 30, 2015

I gave up. Will go to Omega repair shop. My Omega spring bar tool took a beating, luckily the watch lugs are ok. Could the springs have fused inside?

5. Horlogerie EU based Professional Watchmaker Dec 30, 2015

Are they the ones with the smooth pins or those with the flanges on them. The smooth ones can be a real bugger to grab hold of and release, I don't like them, the ones with the flanges are easier because you have something to grab onto.

It will be interesting to see how well you make out at the shop, in my experience it could be a good or a awful experience depending on who you have at the counter.

Doubtful that the springs or the pins have fused, its' most likely a lack of grip issue.

Rob

Clancy Eccles and wsfarrell like this.
  6. Clancy Eccles Dec 30, 2015