Forums Latest Members
  1. OmegaTom Feb 23, 2015

Hi,

I am new on the forum and also still quite new to the 'Speedmaster scene'.
    I am considering on buying the following 1965 105.003 Speedmaster. I have seen it and inspected it, to me it looks good. However, I am no expert. I know all the basic differences and the most important things to look for but would like your opions on this piece first. The ref nr. is 5341XXXX.

Many thanks in advance!

[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Barking mad Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Feb 23, 2015

It looks good in the pics, obviously it is all relative to the price. Do you have a movement pic, serial number and inside case back pic?

3. OmegaTom Feb 23, 2015

Thanks for the quick response.
    The price is €5500. The serial number is 5341XXXX.
    I don't have an inside case back pic, I could ask for one. They give a year of guarantee and state that the movement is in perfect shape.

4. Barking mad Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Feb 23, 2015

The serial is way too high for a 321 movement which is the correct movement for the watch. The price is high especially if the movement number is correct, which I doubt. Definitely request movement pics and clarification of the serial number.

I suspect that the serial is 2341xxxx.

Edited Feb 23, 2015
  5. OmegaTom Feb 23, 2015

Indeed, I suspect that the number will have to be 2341XXXX but I have asked the question to clarify. Also I have asked them to send a picture of the movement. Assuming the watch has a correct serial number and the movement is in good shape, is the price too high for this piece giving the condition it is in?

6. Barking mad Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Feb 23, 2015

The prices are definitely on the increase at the moment and there have been a number selling for similar values however for the money I would like to see a DON90 bezel and some more hi res pics. You should also factor in the cost of a service.

7. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Feb 23, 2015